Candidates put themselves forward as a group

A group ticket has emerged for Cootamundra-Gundagai Regional Council including Rosalind Wight, Peter Batey, Diane Williams, Michael Kingwill, Jennie Maslin, Ron Magnone and Dennis Palmer.

This is the first election Cootamundra or Gundagai residents have experienced above the line voting.

Mr Palmer said council has been fortunate to receive extra funding from the NSW Government.

“We want to exploit every opportunity available to grow our region and attract jobs and investment,” he said. 

Mr Magnone said while each candidate is passionate about their locality, all have shown through the Local Representation Committee that they can work together for the benefit of the region.