Counting complete and new council made public

After days of counting votes, the new Cootamundra-Gundagai Regional Council has been announced and will include (in election order) Doug Phillips, Abb McAlister, Dennis Palmer, Craig Stewart, Charlie Sheahan, Gil Kelly, David Graham, Penny Nicholson and Leigh Bowden. 

Candidates who missed out have 24-hours to call for a recount with the council to be officially declared at 11am Saturday, September 16.

A meeting is likely to be held next week where the new councillors will vote in a mayor and deputy mayor. 

Already Mr Phillips has confirmed his intention to stand for both of these positions. 

Of the nine new councillors, two are former mayors (Mr Phillips for Cootamundra and Mr McAlister for Gundagai) while three people have held deputy mayoral roles (Mr Phillips for Cootamundra, Mr Palmer for Cootamundra and Mr Graham for Gundagai).

The positions of Mr Phillips and Mr Palmer were sewn up with above the line votes, which Mr McAlister secured the most individual first preference votes of any candidate. 

The above three were the only ones to achieve a quota on their first count, with 27 counts needed to secure the ninth and final council position; indicating the importance of preferences. 


Discuss "Make-up of Cootamundra-Gundagai Regional Council announced"

Please note: All comments made or shown here are bound by the Online Discussion Terms & Conditions.